Film Confessions: The Blind Side

1/2

By Christian DiMartino

My girl Sandra Bullock had quite a year in 2009. First, she had a smash summer hit, The Proposal. Then, she had a huge fall flop, All About Steve. Then finally, for the cherry on top, she had a huge fall hit, The Blind Side. The results?

She went home with a Razzie for Steve, she won an Oscar for The Blind Side, and not long after that, she found out her douchebag, outlaw husband Jesse James was having an affair with a Neo-Nazi or some crap. Wow, what a year. The timing of this seemed odd to me, because with the affair, and her Oscar speech, it almost felt as if the Academy was in on it the whole time.

When The Blind Side came out, people would not shut up about it. They ate that movie’s booty like groceries. I was told by many to go and see it. I waited for DVD.

The Blind Side is a bit charming, and Bullock’s performance is pretty good (the highlight in all honesty), but I do not see what all of the hype was about. Was it just me, or was it a bit hokey? It was probably just me, because it still has a 7.7 on IMDB, and it scored a Best Picture nomination (something that, disturbingly, cannot be said about The Dark Knight).

The film tells the story of football player Michael Oher (Quenton Aaron), a homeless young lad who, after meeting Leigh Anne Tuohy (Bullock), is taken in by her and her family, and eventually ends up in the NFL.

Bullock’s performance is good. Her performance keeps it afloat, for the most part. That being said, I don’t think she deserved Best Actress. She’s much better in the far superior Gravity. I feel like anyone could have played this role. Hell, I could have played this role (I do a killer “You threaten my son, you threaten me”).

As for the rest of the movie, it is as cuddly as a kitten. Here’s the kicker though: I don’t LIKE cats very much. Here and there, it is irresistible. But then here and there, it is corny, and hokey, and resistible. Oh, and Bullock’s son is annoying. Won’t let that one slide.

It also just feels like a Lifetime or Hallmark movie. The director, John Lee Hancock, made a much better film a few year’s later called Saving Mr. Banks. This one just feels, well, by the playbook, for a lack of a better term.

I don’t dislike it. It gets certain things right. But considering all of its hype, I think it’s overrated. Call me a terrorist if you want. Am I alone on this one? Please, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

