Golden Globes 2016: Is it Too Good to be True?

By Christian DiMartino

I’ve always viewed The Golden Globes as kind of like an appetizer before the Oscars. It matters and all, but yet you really just want the main course.

Last night’s Golden Globes, however, went magically well. Ricky Gervais was hilarious, as one would expect. But I’m not even talking about the ceremony. For once, a lot of what I wanted to win won.

Sam Smith winning Best Original Song for Spectre was undeserved. That song blows, or maybe he just blows. Either way. I was also surprised to see Kate Winslet win for Steve Jobs. I was rooting for Jennifer Jason Leigh for The Hateful Eight, but I was perfectly fine Winslet, because she was great.

As for the debacle surrounding The Martian, let me just say this: It’s not a comedy! I’m pretty sure Ricky Gervais and everyone else made that clear. It is a wonderful movie, with some funny moments. It might have stood a chance in the Drama category, but it wouldn’t of won anything… hence why they branded it a comedy. Ridiculous. Matt Damon was wonderful, but you know that deep down he didn’t feel right winning the award over actors who were actually in comedies.

But other than that, everything else went very well. Perhaps too well. I desperately wanted Sylvester Stallone to win for Creed. He won. I desperately wanted Leonardo DiCaprio to win for The Revenant. He won. I really wanted Brie Larson to win. She won. I really wanted The Revenant to win Best Picture and Director, over the likes of the former frontrunner, Spotlight. It won both. I was rooting for Ennio Morricone to win Best Score for The Hateful Eight. He won. Jennifer Lawrence for Joy was another I was going for. She won. I also wanted Aaron Sorkin to win Best Screenplay over the likes of Spotlight (even though Spotlight is the better movie). It won.

I was on cloud 9. I felt like I was dreaming. But alas, God hates me, hence why I’ve had such an awful day today (R.I.P. David Bowie). But I digress. Let’s focus on the Globes.

This all sounds fine and dandy, to say the least. But The Golden Globes aren’t the Oscars, so what does this actually mean?

The Oscar nominations come out on Thursday, and I’m honestly horrified. I’ve looked at the nominations for The Golden Globes, The SAG Awards, and The BAFTAs, and none of them completely match up, especially in the supporting categories. There’s the whole “Will Alicia Vikander and Rooney Mara contend for Lead or Supporting” mystery. There’s also the matter of whether or not Stallone will be nominated. Personally, I say he deserves to win, but he hasn’t been nominated for anything besides The Golden Globes. He seems like the underdog here. Will he get it? I truly hope so, not even because it would be poetic justice (he last scored Oscar nominations in 1976 for the original Rocky).

I feel like DiCaprio is a lock. They can’t really snub him anymore. It’s time. But what about The Revenant itself? Spotlight appeared to be the top contender in both the Best Picture and Director categories, but was royally snubbed last night. Will The Revenant prevail, or will Spotlight prevail? Or will they split Best Director and Best Picture? Or, who knows, they might pull a Ben Affleck and snub both of them.

Larson seems to be a lock as well. If Mara and Vikander are thrown in supporting, one of them will win. But Larson beat both of them, and I don’t think that is likely to change. How about Lawrence? The mixed reviews might hurt her. As for Morricone, it looks as if he’ll have to compete against John Williams for Star Wars: The Force Awakens (which wasn’t nominated last night due to the fact that it wasn’t screened in time to avoid spoilers). Williams has five Oscars, and is a real genius, but Morricone hasn’t actually won one before, aside from a Lifetime achievement award. Plus, I thought his score was chilling perfection.

Lastly, just how well will Steve Jobs do? I was expecting it to go home empty handed last night since everyone seems to have jumped ship on it. But it scored two. I still don’t think it will nab a Best Picture nomination (though it should), but it should at least win Best Adapted Screenplay. However, I thought Gillian Flynn’s brilliant screenplay for Gone Girl was a shoo-in, and yet it was snubbed. They also snubbed Sorkin years ago for A Few Good Men. They could do it again for all we know, even though it would be a baffling crime.

I guess we really won’t know until Thursday. I’m scared to hear them though. This was such a great year for film, and the competition is insanely fierce. Too fierce. I feel like someone, somewhere on the ballot, will be tragically snubbed. They’ve done it before, and they’re bound to do it again. I’m ready to be mad as hell, and I don’t know if I can take it anymore.

Leave a Reply

