On DVD This Week: A new segment and a catch-up session

By Christian DiMartino

So, I have yet another confession to make: I don’t review every movie I see. Yep. Now if you have paid any attention, you’ll notice that I’ll apologize for being tardy, and yeah, my apologies. But Sometimes I just don’t feel like writing. Sue me.

So alas, a new segment has arrived. And a new challenge as well: every week, I will write a short blurb discussing the movies that are coming out on DVD this week. In the case of the ones coming out this week, I have reviewed them already. But sometimes, however, this is not always the case. So, here we go.

  • Captain America: Civil War: The best of the summer’s blockbusters, Captain America: Civil War regained my interest in superhero films once again. Just when I thought I might be burned out, this fun, fast, sharp, funny, and simply spectacular outing roped me back in again. Well done. (4 stars)
  • The Conjuring 2: This has been yet another year surrounded by sequels, and yet The Conjuring 2 worked. Perhaps not as well as its predecessor, but not far off either. James Wan has such a gift with this sort of thing, and his stars, Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson, work so well together, you hope for more sequels. (3 stars)
  • Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping: Here we have something original and consistently hilarious… and yet it tanked. Because everyone decided to go see Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. But not I. I laughed my ass off for nearly 80 straight minutes at this film, and honestly, I wanted to go back as soon as it was over. (3.5 stars)
Leave a Reply

