On DVD This Week: Blood, Chicks, and Disappoinmemt

By Christian DiMartino

Here’s just a few of the movies coming out on DVD this week (note: I have not seen Ice Age: Collision Course, because it looks like garbage. But if you wanted to know, it’s on DVD this week. So there. Now you know.

  • Blood Father: I’ve been an enormous Mel Gibson fan for… too long. Hence why I bent over backwards for Blood Father, a fun, thrilling, if not necessarily original or creative action thriller. It’s a film that goes through the motions, but yet it’s a pleasure to watch, simply to see Mad Mel back in business. He shows us that there’s still a grand talent within him. (3 stars)
  • Ghostbusters: I almost wrote a full length review of Ghostbusters a few weeks ago, but I didn’t really feel like it. So what can I say? I’ll say that the cast is likable. But really, a lot of this just didn’t work for me. I barely found it funny, it’s visual effects were lackluster, it offered nothing new in the story department. It has an occasional moment, and the first hour is entertaining enough. But once it flies off the rails, there’s really no saving it. I don’t know who they’re gonna call, but this film definitely is trouble. (1.5 stars)
  • The Legend of Tarzan: I’m not really sure how anyone thought The Legend of Tarzan was going to go. I hoped it would be good, for the sake of Alexander Skarsgaard, Margot Robbie, Christoph Waltz, and Samuel L. Jackson. But… this film reeks of mediocrity. Or rather, it lacks anything spectacular, and it’s even, at times, downright ridiculous. Even for a live action Tarzan movie. (2 stars)
Leave a Reply

